Association

art-werk exists because this world deserves a more emotional approach. Artistic practices help to open new perspectives. We participate in disseminating them and making them accessible to all.

art-werk is a non-profit association for the promotion and diffusion of art committed to contemporary social and environmental concerns. The association creates exhibitions and an open educational program, produces and offers free access to a regular podcast, articles and a newsletter focusing on the connections between art, science and societal issues.

Art is a powerful vector of reflection and openness. Whether by highlighting contrasts or dissonances, by humour or tragedy, the artists poetically propose new perspectives on fundamental matters. Aware that artistic and cultural production offers modes of expression and strategies capable of bringing intellectual and emotional curiosity to a wide audience, the art-werk team facilitates the links between subtle art and topics reflecting the existential challenges of our time. In this way our activities deal with questions of identity, the human relationship to nature, technology and time. In this perspective, we seek to bring works to the forefront and allow spectators, participants and readers to forge links, to question themselves and to wonder.

Based in Geneva, art-werk is made up of a interdisciplinary team and a committee of mainly volunteers; art historians, artists, scientists, computer scientists and human rights specialists. The association is looking for ways of mediation to share a sharp vision of contemporary art with a public of different ages, genders and sociocultural backgrounds. Through its nomadic activities and a multilingual approach in French, German and English, the association also participates in promoting artistic exchanges between the Swiss linguistic regions and neighbouring countries. The strong ties that unite art-werk with the city of Berlin, where part of the team works, allow the opening of a network of artists, academics and actors of the associative world and connect two complementary cities in terms of international organization and multicultural artistic practices.

We need your help: it is thanks to your donations that workshops, exhibitions, podcasts and news can remain free and be made accessible to all.

Committee

Association

Les pratiques artistiques participent à ouvrir d’autres perspectives. Nous contribuons à les diffuser et à les rendre accessible au plus grand nombre.

art-werk est une association à but non-lucratif pour la promotion et la diffusion d’un art engagé sur les problématiques sociales et environnementales contemporaines. L’association crée des expositions et un programme éducatif gratuits, produit et offre en libre accès un podcast régulier, des articles et une newsletter centrés sur les liens entre art, science et problématiques sociétales.

L’art est un vecteur puissant de réflexion et d’ouverture. Que ce soit en mettant en avant des contrastes ou des dissonances, par l’humour ou le tragique les artistes proposent avec poésie de nouveaux regards sur des problématiques fondamentales. Consciente que la production artistique et culturelle offre des modes d’expressions et des stratégies capables d’amener de la curiosité intellectuelle et émotionnelle à un large publique, l’équipe d’art-werk, facilite les liens de production et de compréhension entre art contemporain et thématiques reflétant les défis existentiels de notre époque. Par ce biais nos activités traitent des questions d’identités, du rapport humain à la nature, à la technologie et au temps. Nous cherchons dans cette perspective à mettre en avant des œuvres et permettre aux spectateurs, participants et lecteurs de s’interroger, de s’émerveiller.

Basée à Genève, art-werk est constituée d'une équipe transdisciplinaire et d'un comité ; historiens de l’art, artistes, scientifiques, informaticiens et spécialistes des droits humains. L’association cherche des moyens de médiation pour partager une vision pointue sur l’art contemporain avec un public d’âges et de milieux socio-culturels multiples. L’association par ses activités nomades et dans une approche multilingue (français, allemand, anglais) participe également à favoriser les échanges artistiques entre les régions linguistiques suisses et les pays limitrophes. Les liens forts qui unissent art-werk à la ville de Berlin, où une partie de l'équipe travaille, permettent d’ouvrir un réseau d’artistes, d’académiques et d’acteurs du monde associatif et connecter deux villes complémentaires en termes d’organisation internationale et de pratiques artistiques multiculturelles.

Nous avons besoin de votre aide : c'est grâce à vos dons que les ateliers, les expositions, les podcasts et les articles peuvent rester gratuits et être accessibles à tous.

Comité