Chloé Delarue

Season 1 · Episode 1

For Unraveled, the art-werk podcast artist Nina Kettiger, curator Bernard Vienat, and writer Philipp Hindahl talk to artists about their practice and its meaning in our society.

To start off, they met Swiss-French artist Chloé Delarue. In her installations she works with such diverse materials as latex, neon lights, small engines, and video. Her immersive works tell the story of a possible post-apocalyptic future, a parallel world in which only faint traces of mankind remain, where an organic structure reproduces independently. After winning the Kiefer Habitzel Prize in 2017, Chloé participated in many group and solo shows in Switzerland and beyond.

Chloé has an ongoing body of work: “TAFAA–Towards A Fully Automated Appearance.” It is an attempt to capture the instabilities of our time. Tech capitalism is very real, and Chloé discusses her inspiration that may seem to come from science fiction narratives. But French philosopher Jacques Derrida’s concept of hauntology plays an equal part in the conception of her pieces.

In each episode, the guests picks an essay or a book that is reviewed at the end. Chloe suggested Yuk Hui’s piece On the Unhappy Consciousness of Neoreactionaries which was published by e-flux Journal in April of 2017. In her work, Chloé is concerned with networked systems, and Hui’s essay unpacks the ideologies that grew out of networked capitalism.

Chloé Delarue, TAFAA – NEW RARE XPENDABLE, 2019, exhibition view, Kunsthaus Langenthal Chloé Delarue, TAFAA – NEW RARE XPENDABLE, 2019, exhibition view, Kunsthaus Langenthal

Chloé Delarue, TAFAA – NEW RARE XPENDABLE, 2019, exhibition view, Kunsthaus Langenthal Chloé Delarue, TAFAA – NEW RARE XPENDABLE, 2019, exhibition view, Kunsthaus Langenthal

Chloé Delarue, TAFAA – NEW RARE XPENDABLE, 2019, exhibition view, Kunsthaus Langenthal Chloé Delarue, TAFAA – NEW RARE XPENDABLE, 2019, exhibition view, Kunsthaus Langenthal

Podcast Episode 1

Chloé Delarue

· 30:53

Pour Unraveled, le podcast d’art-werk, l'artiste Nina Kettiger, le commissaire Bernard Vienat et l'écrivain Philipp Hindahl parlent aux artistes de leurs pratiques et de leurs relations avec la société. Dans ce premier épisode, ils rencontrent l'artiste franco-suisse Chloé Delarue.

Dans ses installations, elle travaille avec des matériaux aussi divers que le latex, les néons, des petits moteurs et la vidéo. Ses œuvres immersives racontent l'histoire d'un possible futur post-apocalyptique, un monde parallèle dans lequel il ne reste que de fines traces de l'humanité, où une structure organique se reproduit indépendamment. Après avoir remporté le Prix Kiefer Habitzel en 2017, Chloé a participé à de nombreuses expositions collectives et individuelles en Suisse et à l'international.

Dans chaque épisode, les invités choisissent un essai ou un livre, Chloé a suggéré l'article de Yuk Hui On the Unhappy Consciousness of Neoreactionaries qui a été publié par e-flux Journal en avril 2017. Dans son travail, Delarue s'intéresse aux systèmes en réseau, et l'essai de Hui expose les idéologies qui sont nées du capitalisme en réseau.

Chloé Delarue, TAFAA – NEW RARE XPENDABLE, 2019, exhibition view, Kunsthaus Langenthal Chloé Delarue, TAFAA – NEW RARE XPENDABLE, 2019, exhibition view, Kunsthaus Langenthal

Chloé Delarue, TAFAA – NEW RARE XPENDABLE, 2019, exhibition view, Kunsthaus Langenthal Chloé Delarue, TAFAA – NEW RARE XPENDABLE, 2019, exhibition view, Kunsthaus Langenthal

Chloé Delarue, TAFAA – NEW RARE XPENDABLE, 2019, exhibition view, Kunsthaus Langenthal Chloé Delarue, TAFAA – NEW RARE XPENDABLE, 2019, exhibition view, Kunsthaus Langenthal