Collective Action by Adrien Missika: Unkrautpflege

Everywhere around the world and at Kleingarten Habsburg-Gaußstraße Gaußstraße 14, 10589 Berlin.

On the special day of the 12.06.2021 everyone on planet earth is invited to go out on the streets and water the weeds

Collective Action by Adrien Missika: Unkrautpflege

On the special day of the 12.06.2021 everyone on planet earth is invited to go out on the streets and water the weeds following Adrien Missika’s instruction piece Unkrautpflege:

Take a watering can (or any container)
Fill it with water
Go out on the street
Walk down one way
Water all thirsty weeds
Refill water wherever you can
Go on until tired or hungry

As a collective action everyone is invited to share a picture or video of them watering weeds on social media under #reconnectingearth and #weedcare and help raise awareness for the usually rather disregarded urban landscape pioneer plants.

The artist will activate the syncronized participative action with the gardeners of Kleingarten Habsburg-Gaußstraße and the public during the opening of the exhibition (re)connecting.earth at 3 pm at Gaußstraße 14, 10589 Berlin.

The exhibition (re)connecting.earth curated by Bernard Vienat focuses on the restoration of an affective relationship with non-human life forms and an increasing attention to urban nature. The action planned by Missika aims to collectively change our perspective on the city‘s biodiversity. It is based on his ongoing project “Unkrautpflege” (engl. “Caring for Weeds”) first performed on Karl-Marx-Allee, Berlin, during the summer 2018. This summer was marked by an extreme heatwave that put a strain on both people and plants. To counteract the effects of the heat on the vegetation, Missika started to tirelessly water the weeds making it to the other end of the street on the second day.

More information about the exhibition and the artist: www.reconnecting.earth / www.adrienmissika.com

Collective Action by Adrien Missika: Unkrautpflege

Everywhere around the world and at Kleingarten Habsburg-Gaußstraße Gaußstraße 14, 10589 Berlin.

On the special day of the 12.06.2021 everyone on planet earth is invited to go out on the streets and water the weeds

Collective Action by Adrien Missika: Unkrautpflege

Am Samstag, 12.06.2021, ist jeder auf dem Planeten Erde eingeladen auf die Straße zu gehen und nach der Anleitung der Aktion “Unkrautpflege” des Künstlers Adrien Missika das Unkraut zu gießen:

Nimm eine Gießkanne (oder ähnliches)
Fülle sie mit Wasser
Gehe hinaus auf die Straße
Gehe einen Weg entlang
Gieße alle durstigen Unkräuter
Fülle Wasser nach, wo immer du kannst
Mach weiter, bis du müde oder hungrig bist

Bei dieser kollektiven Aktion ist jeder eingeladen, ein Bild oder Video von sich beim Gießen des Unkrauts auf den sozialen Medien unter #reconnectingearth und #weedcare zu teilen und so das Bewusstsein für die sonst eher unbeachteten Pionierpflanzen der urbanen Landschaft zu schärfen.
Der Künstler wird die synchronisierte partizipatorische Aktion mit den Gärtnern des Kleingartens Habsburg-Gaußstraße und der Öffentlichkeit während der Eröffnung der Ausstellung (re)connecting.earth um 15 Uhr in der Gaußstraße 14, 10589 Berlin starten.

Die Ausstellung (re)connecting.earth, kuratiert von Bernard Vienat, hat ihren Fokus auf der Wiederherstellung einer affektiven Beziehung zu nicht-menschlichen Lebensformen und einer zunehmenden Aufmerksamkeit für die urbane Natur. Die von Missika geplante Aktion zielt darauf ab kollektiv unsere Wahrnehmung der Artenvielfalt in der Stadt zu verändern. Sie aktiviert das Kunstwerk „Unkrautpflege“, das im Sommer 2018 erstmals auf der Karl-Marx-Allee in Berlin durchgeführt wurde. Dieser Sommer war geprägt von einer extremen Hitzewelle, die sowohl Menschen als auch Pflanzen stark belastete. Um den Auswirkungen der Hitze auf die Vegetation entgegenzuwirken, begann Missika unermüdlich das Unkraut zu gießen, bis er es am zweiten Tag bis zum anderen Ende der Straße schaffte.

Weitere Informationen zur Ausstellung und zum Künstler: www.reconnecting.earth / www.adrienmissika.com