Saturday's special finissage Geneva.(re)connecting.earth

Auberge des Vergers, Esplanade des Récréations 21, 1217 Meyrin

Special day "When the eco-neighbourhood becomes a forest" organised as part of the Fête des Vergers for the finissage of the exhibition (re)connecting.earth in Geneva.

Saturday's special finissage Geneva.(re)connecting.earth

To bring the (re)connecting.earth exhibition at Les Vergers to a festive close, a new tree will be planted as a sign of reconnection with the earth. We have asked students and residents of the neighbourhood to write down the name they would like to give to the new tree. One name from the list will be elected at the end of the process and will be revealed on 2 October.

Program

15:00 - 16:00 Guided tour by curator Bernard Vienat with guest Olivier Chatelain (expert in urban biodiversity)

16:00 - 17:00 Conference "How to build sustainably" (with Daniela Liengme and Laura Mechkat, housing architects for the Equilibre cooperative and Dominique Von During, expert in sustainable building materials)

https://lm-architectes.ch/projets.php

17:00 - 18:00 Planting and naming of the new (cherry) tree as a memory of the exhibition. Following the instructions of the artist Adrien Missika, the schoolchildren of the Vergers school who took part in the workshops gave the new tree a name as a symbol of a lasting reconnection with the earth.

18:00 - 19:45 Screening of the film Le temps des forêts (François-Xavier Drouet, 2018)

A symbol of authentic nature in the eyes of urban dwellers, the French forest is undergoing an unprecedented phase of industrialisation. Heavy mechanisation, monocultures, fertilisers and pesticides, forest management is following the intensive agricultural model at an accelerated pace. From the Limousin to the Landes, from the Morvan to the Vosges, Le Temps des forêts offers a journey to the heart of industrial forestry and its alternatives. Living forest or wooded desert, today's choices will shape tomorrow's landscape.

Trailer: https://greenpeacefilmfestival.org/en/film/le-temps-des-forets/

Le temps des forêts (François-Xavier Drouet, 2018)
Le temps des forêts (François-Xavier Drouet, 2018)
Exhibition View, Quartier des Vergers (Meyrin) – Mikhail Rojkov
Ausstellungsansicht, Quartier des Vergers (Meyrin) – Mikhail Rojkov
Impressions from the Workshops with the schoolchildren of the Vergers school – Mikhail Rojkov
Impressions from the Workshops with the schoolchildren of the Vergers school – Mikhail Rojkov

Samstag Sonderfinissage Genf.(re)connecting.earth

Auberge des Vergers, Esplanade des Récréations 21, 1217 Meyrin

Spezialtag "Wenn die Öko-Nachbarschaft zum Wald wird", organisiert im Rahmen der Fête des Vergers zur Finissage der Ausstellung (re)connecting.earth in Genf.

Samstag Sonderfinissage Genf.(re)connecting.earth

Zum feierlichen Abschluss der Ausstellung (re)connecting.earth in Les Vergers wird ein neuer Baum gepflanzt, als Zeichen der Wiederverbindung mit der Erde. Wir haben Student:innen und Bewohner:innen des Viertels gebeten, den Namen aufzuschreiben, den sie dem neuen Baum geben möchten. Der Name aus dieser Liste wird am Ende des Prozesses ausgewählt und am 2. Oktober bei der Finissage der Ausstellung enthüllt.

Programm

15:00 - 16:00 Führung mit Kurator Bernard Vienat und Gast Olivier Chatelain (Experte für urbane Artenvielfalt)

16:00 - 17:00 Konferenz "Nachhaltig bauen" (mit Daniela Liengme und Laura Mechkat, Wohnungsbauarchitektinnen der Genossenschaft Equilibre und Dominique Von During, Expertin für nachhaltige Baumaterialien)

https://lm-architectes.ch/projets.php

17:00 - 18:00 Pflanzung und Namensgebung des neuen Baums als Erinnerung an die Ausstellung. Nach der Anleitung des Künstlers Adrien Missika gaben die Schüler der Vergers-Schule, die an den Workshops der Ausstellung teilnahmen, dem neuen Baum einen Namen als Symbol für eine dauerhafte Wiederverbindung mit der Erde.

18:00 - 19:45 Vorführung des Films Le temps des forêts (François-Xavier Drouet, 2018)

Der französische Wald, in den Augen der Stadtbewohner ein Symbol für authentische Natur, durchläuft eine beispiellose Phase der Industrialisierung. Starke Mechanisierung, Monokulturen, Düngemittel und Pestizide - die Waldbewirtschaftung folgt dem Modell der intensiven Landwirtschaft in beschleunigtem Tempo. Vom Limousin bis zu den Landes, vom Morvan bis zu den Vogesen bietet Le Temps des forêts eine Reise in das Herz der industriellen Forstwirtschaft und ihrer Alternativen. Ob lebendiger Wald oder bewaldete Wüste, die Entscheidungen von heute werden die Landschaft von morgen prägen.

Trailer: https://greenpeacefilmfestival.org/en/film/le-temps-des-forets/

Le temps des forêts (François-Xavier Drouet, 2018)
Le temps des forêts (François-Xavier Drouet, 2018)
Ausstellungsansicht, Quartier des Vergers (Meyrin) – Mikhail Rojkov
Ausstellungsansicht, Quartier des Vergers (Meyrin) – Mikhail Rojkov